Skip to content

Dogs Trust Hope Project

December 16, 2012

HomelessWithDog

Image from Beverly & Pack’s Flickr. While reading The Big Issue recently, I came across an appeal for readers to knit dog jumpers for those dogs living on the streets with their homeless owners. The ‘Keep Canines Cosy’ campaign is part of the Dogs Trust Hope Project. The appeal received over 1,000 knitted jumpers, which are going to be included in special canine Christmas hampers. I feel all warm and fuzzy just thinking about it.

Unfortunately my knitting ability is hugely lacking (it took me about seven months to knit a shorter-than-average scarf), so I think I might start knitting now in time for the appeal next year. Embarrassingly, I do actually own a dog jumper knitting book. I know, judge me all you want – in my defence, it seemed like a good idea at the time. I now own several different sized knitting needles, two boxes of wool, the book and a whole stack of guilt from not doing anything with it. I will keep you updated as to whether I make any process with this. (Don’t get too hopeful.)

The Hope Project does a lot more than giving out doggy jumpers. They also run a veterinary scheme which offers free and subsidised veterinary treatment to those who are homeless or considered to be in ‘housing crisis’ and support dog friendly homeless shelters. And I wasn’t even aware this project existed, so I thought I’d tell you about it, just in case you didn’t either!

You can find out more about the project here and you can see some of the wonderful knitted offerings on the Dogs Trust blog here. And if you can knit, get involved!

Leave a comment